Writing Group 65: Things that make me feel all grown up

Things that make me feel all grown up….

Growing tomatoes on my balcony and then enjoying the fresh redness in a nice salad,

Whilst making that salad, preferring to listen to the soothing sounds of radio 2 rather than the random noise of radio 1,

And to that salad, I might add, one of the 3 different types of cheese that now seem to be in my fridge,

Whilst standing in the shoes from Clarks that I voluntarily bought,

And looking around at the little apartment I rent and seeing it all neat and tidy because I am definitely house proud,

Not just house proud, proud of my clothes and appearance that each Sunday I do the weekly ironing,

So that I look smart for the proper job I do,

That earns enough to pay taxes,

If that’s not growing up, I don’t know what is.

Leave a Reply

