Writing Group 67: Poem

Fear

The look of fear upon their faces
when I innocently say :
I don’t speak French…
Their eyes wide open, their mouths agape,
But, but , but, they stutter
You don’t speak French
No, I say, with a small smile
In here I don’t
But I no speak
Comes the reply
Don’t worry,
I try and reassure
I am not going to hurt you
Just teach you.
But how, how do you teach?
They are still worried
Out of their comfort zone.
Again, don’t panic
I am good at my job
I am not going to let you sink
But for me, in a classroom,
I will speak
ENGLISH

Leave a Reply

