Writing group 81: picked to pieces

He seemed friendly enough, maybe a bit superior, but nothing I could not handle. We talked about books and I mentioned one of my favourites and thats when it went wrong. He paused and looked at me, asked me to repeat.
No, no, he said, in a patronising manner, you can not possibly like him. And then he took the books apart. every. little. bit. point. by. point. explaining. exactly. why. I. should. not. read. these. books.
It took him maybe five minutes to totally destroy everything I loved. When it was over, his points made, I just sat there, dumbfounded. I did not agree, at all, but had lost all enthusiasm to argue, to defend my beloved books.
Another friend asked me why I had gone quiet.
I am just on morning, I replied.

Leave a Reply

