Writing Group 87: Darling

“Hannah, Darling, could you be a dear? Could you close the  blind for me?”

I smile at this, the old school language, of darling and dear.

It made me feel special, a little warm in side.

I am someones darling, I am a dear.

I skipped off to close the blind, something that’s probably benefit my pay scale.

“He shouldn’t call you that, it’s sexist.”

Says a well meaning friend.

I bluster, confused, my happy bubble burst.

“I don’t mind…” I defend

“You should tell him not to patronise you!”

I feel bad, I’ve let the side down. The women I mean.

But I am a feminist, I am strong, independent and confident!

I just kinda like being called darling.

2 thoughts on “Writing Group 87: Darling

Leave a Reply

